We Must Confront & Challenge – Reverend Tweed’s Speech

Updated on Monday, September 2nd, 2013.

I haven’t been to a Labour Day Banquet in Bermuda since, I think, 2007.  While I often took issue with the appropriation of bourgeois spectacle, I always enjoyed (even if to critique!) the speeches given.

I’ve only just read over the RG transcript of Reverend Nicholas Tweed’s speech.

I cannot confirm yet if this is the entire transcript, or an abridged version.

Nonetheless, even if a collection of excerpts, I am profoundly impressed by what Reverend Tweed had to say.

Reverend Tweed has, much more eloquently than I, put forward a number of ideas which I appreciate, and for normally conservative Bermuda, they are potentially explosively radical.

I reckon I’ll be giving a deeper look at bits of his speech going forward; I just wanted to highlight it here and recommend people read over it.

And Reverend Tweed, if you ever read the blogs, and ever come across mine, I just wanted to say thank you for that speech.  It was awesome.

I’ve come across an audio recording of Reverend Tweed’s speech also; listen to it here!

Words of wisdom...

Words of wisdom…

One thought on “We Must Confront & Challenge – Reverend Tweed’s Speech

  1. Looking forward to your thoughts on his speech, in particular supportable evidence that employees are “shouldering a heavier (disproportionate) burden relative to organisations”.

Leave a Reply

