On blogs and blogging in Bermuda

I’ve noticed that a few blogs, which had gone dormant over the last few years, sprung back to life in the run up to the election.  Unfortunately, all of them seem to have sunk back into dormancy since the election, with the exception of one, Politics.bm, which seems more active since the election than before, although the postings remain sporadic.

New Onion and Vexedbermoothes seem to be having an extended holiday break though.  And 21 Square has been dormant since the summer, and I believe the blogger generally got fed up blogging.  It can take a lot of energy and thinking to craft a blog post – it is a lot easier to simply comment and critique someone else’s post.

With the OBA having won power, it will be interesting to see how the political-leaning blogs in Bermuda will react.

The majority of blogs in Bermuda were ant-PLP and thus de facto pro-OBA.  Whether they will begin critiquing the OBA government or just shut up shop will be interesting to see.

It will also be interesting to see if pro-PLP blogs will set-up now that the PLP is no longer in power.  There was an impression that the PLP and its supporters were wary of blogs due to concerns about maintaining control over the party-line.  I don’t think that was any definite policy, but I do think many PLP supporters who may otherwise have set-up blogs chose not to do so for various reasons.  I would encourage and welcome a more diversified political blogging scene here now that the PLP are back into the Opposition.

My own blog will remain, albeit as an Independent blog, in political terms.

However, for the next few months, due to various reasons, I will not be blogging necessarily on direct political events in Bermuda.  I’m thinking instead of focusing on some more abstract or theoretical works.  I hope to deepen my understanding of some issues in this way, as well as give myself some time to analyse the OBA as a government. I also would like to flesh out some of the ideas which I ran on as a platform for the election.

5 thoughts on “On blogs and blogging in Bermuda

  1. ” And 21 Square has been dormant since the summer, and I believe the blogger generally got fed up blogging.”

    Close, more so fed up with politics in general. I have no shortage of ideas of what I could write about and a great many things I’d complain about with the OBA already.
    – GP cars should have been put up for sale on day 1 except for 1-2 for premier and visiting foreign dignitaries. Any others are absolutely unnecessary.
    – 13 Ministers / ministries, are they crazy?
    – A minister without portfolio? Unless she’s also Minister without paycheck then they’re padding their own egos and unnecessarily inflating our debt
    – the constitution changes for leadership – It’s a “we had to deceive you moment”, all along they preached that they were about involving the people and striving towards open governance and then a near first act is to turn it back into a boys club. It should have stayed the way it was, if a non-MP is elected leader by the general membership then the leader should resign his seat.

    The list goes on and its only a few weeks in.

    I just largely came to ask myself what the gains were vs. the effort? Is it worth investing a great deal of time when it makes little to no perceived difference and are my efforts better spent elsewhere for the time being.

  2. Well, I think it depends on ones expectations of blogging. What are the limitations of blogging, and, at that, can they be effective at all? Or, rather, what is the point of blogging?

    I think it also depends on what topics one wants to blog about, and how one approaches those topics. And whether one sees the blogs as an end in itself, or a means to an end (or just one tool amongst others).

    I find the blogs useful for highlighting issues, and expanding understanding of issues overall. You raise some good points in the above comment, and I think it is important that the blogs do ‘talk truth to power’ – or at least attempt to.

    I’ve always held that if citizens don’t mount a foothold in a democracy, then they vacate the field to special interests and dominant powers. The internet, and especially the blogs, in many ways level the playing field in terms of political discourse.

    Not everyone is going to blog, or even comment on them, but I think there is a role for ‘public intellectuals’ via the blogs to help shape political discourse and effect change, even indirectly.

    And who knows, maybe the OBA Governmental era will have a different impact on blogs and blogging than the PLP era?

    I certainly would welcome your voice back into local discourse, as a regular and strong voice that your blog represented.

  3. I tend to agree with you regarding expectations of blogging. Much of when I blogged I did so with the expectation that I would work on my writing and build my analytical skills. In that regard it was a very rewarding experience.

    Also to claim is ineffective is a bit hasty of me, I did have the opportunity to gain the attention and audience of numerous MPs and Premiers when I did blog.

    The crossroads that I’m at now however is that I need to do more personal development and I believe the best opportunities to do so lie outside of political blogging. As you stated in your article, blogging regularly can be a considerable undertaking and for the moment I can’t justify the time to do so as often as I once did.

    This isn’t to say I’ve stopped entirely and likely will post something again at some point.

  4. The beauty of blogging – to the reader – is using other people’s ideas to challenge your own thinking.

    We are an inherently lazy species (in the main) and we don’t challenge what we think as much as we should. We take on board what we read and hear that we are comfortable with, without thinking it through.

    We accept conventional wisdom with similar ease, failing so often to challenge whether it is still relevant.

Leave a Reply

