Welcome Back Politics.bm

I see that Christian over at Politics.bm has shaken off the cobwebs and decided to reactivate his blog, and I would like to welcome him back.

While Christian and I have some rather opposing views, I have always enjoyed his insight; indeed, I set this blog up as an answer to his own, which I saw as an independent UBP voice and one of the most important Bermudian political blogs. Many of my posts in fact were written as a direct reply to his own (in addition to Denis’ excellent 21square). I look forward to doing so once more.

I have to admit that I am not entirely surprised at his decision to restart the blog. I have long suspected Christian to still be an active participant on the various blogs and forums, as well as being actively engaged in reforming the UBP. I was in fact just musing to another yesterday that I had been checking his site every day since the UBP-NewBP split occurred. I had this idea that he would reactivate and his blog become the online independent voice of the NewBP, quickly followed by the NewBP’s own site. Of course, I could be wrong and he simply decided it was time to reactivate, although the timing is certainly suspicious.

Either way, I am happy to see such an insightful blog as Politics.bm back up and running, and I look forward to reading – and critiquing – his posts.

19 thoughts on “Welcome Back Politics.bm

  1. Jonathon,

    A couple quick points:

    “I have long suspected Christian to still be an active participant on the various blogs and forums, as well as being actively engaged in reforming the UBP.”

    Incorrect on all accounts. I read most if not all online material but have posted once or twice on Denis’s site under my own name. I do not participate in the forums. ever have. I have not been involved in the UBP in several years and have had no role whatsoever in any efforts of reform. I am on record for some time saying it should dissolve.

    “I had this idea that he would reactivate and his blog become the online independent voice of the NewBP, quickly followed by the NewBP’s own site.”

    I am affiliated with no party, either existing or new, or in formation, or otherwise. No groups either, whether it’s The Bermudians or anyone else. I’m saying what’s on my mind as I always have, taking direction from no-one and serving no-one else’s agenda.

    It’s just me looking to have some fun and raise issues. I was really bored over the past year and missed having the site and ranting away.

    Of course it’s easier to try and put everyone into a box so there’s a nice order to the world. But there’s nothing more to this other than me missing an outlet and it being an interesting time in Bermuda politics. When I started thinking about coming back I told myself to wait a year and see if I felt differently. I didn’t.

    Whether you or others choose to accept that reality is not within my control though.

    Conspiracy theories are always good for hits.

    All the best.

  2. LOL – well, surely you can understand my suspicions! As I said though, I’m looking forward to your posts.

    And yeah, I’m jealous that the randomly generated avatar for you is cooler than mine. Stupid avatar generating system (shakes fist).

    I do think that we will see your opinions to be very influential in the developing political system; in particular I think the current situation reflects much of your last posts in 2008 on the fate of the UBP.

  3. First order of business is a bit of housekeeping on the site, integrating twitter, etc..

    Not sure if my opinions have any influence, but for whatever reason I did draw attention, some good, unfortunately some rather unpleasant.

  4. Your opinions have helped develope the local blogisphere. Glad your back. Hell, get Limey back and we could start our own party.

  5. You can choose your avatar by going to http://www.gravatar.com, signing up and uploading whatever image you like. WordPress looks up the image using the email address you used for your comment.

    Good to see you back, Christian.

    Phil

  6. Most interesting developments on the Bermuda political scene. New parties forming, dormant blogs waking up, picnics in the park. etc. etc. I wonder what it all means.

  7. ahhh…this old game gain, huh. let’s go to the scoreboard:

    plp still in power
    dr. brown still in charge
    certain folks still pulling their hair out
    the ubp still crumbling
    …nice
    🙂

  8. It appears that the younger ie progressive element in Bermuda are starting to stir and have at long last come out to say they are sick and tired of the same old same old. Let’s get rid of the over 60’s on both sides and get the island looking forward and not backward to the 60’s.
    Unfortunately the great intentions will not flourish whilst the status quo are in power. Doesn’t matter if it is Education, Tourism or Cannabis. It need the grass roots to come out in public and show their true feelings, and now is the time or the opportunity will be missed. Unlikely to happen though. Willing to complain in private but not show in public. An indication of the power of suppression and fear instilled by the current oligarchy.

Leave a Reply

