Vandalism

I was sickened to read about the burglary and arson committed on the Kiddie Academy in town. I just don’t get some of these wanton acts of crime. Not that any crime of this sort is okay, but I find the destruction of this kindergarten particularly disturbing. I mean like, what kind of mentality drives someone to trash a kindergarten? I can understand the burglary bit (not that I condone it), but I really don’t understand the arson and trashing of the building. I mean, what goes through the mind of the individual, or individuals, that did this? And the same goes for the destruction of things like trashcans, especially at the bus stops. I don’t know, I really don’t understand this type of thing. I can understand attacking something like a police station or whatnot, like a McDonalds (and I’m not condoning that, but at least one can argue some sort of political statement like – personally I find things like that counter-productive even from a political point of view). I can also sort of understand the phenomena of tagging graffiti, although I think its absolutely stupid and defacing (I like well executed graffiti or graffiti messages, but the tags just looks stupid and makes little sense).

I realise this is just a pure rant, so I apologise for that. I would appreciate it though if anyone could give some insight into the psychology that leads to stupidity like this.

7 thoughts on “Vandalism

  1. Rant away mate. It gets more and more despicable every day. Breaking into a place like that and torching it – I can’t explain it and all I can say is that the perpetrators need to be taken out of society for a very long time.

  2. will we get an impassioned plea from whoever’s tun it is to stand in for the Premier urging the UBP to come out and condemn this pointless act of stupidity?

    No, of course not as that would be as stupid as asking them to condemn the drunken ramblings of a slightly disturbed teenager.

  3. I always remember years ago in the UK (and I can’t recall the circumstances) when a youth was asked “why” did he did a certain thing…trashing a house from memory.

    He simply said…”because I can”.

    And I hate to say it, but I sometimes think it is no more complex than that.

  4. Political and economic frustration are good reasonable excuses to perform these acts. This has some black power hate ingredients in it. Weak uselesss political leadership provokes vandalism been there many times.

  5. people on hard addictive drugs do stupid things….get used to it cause as jobs start to dry up here

    the working addicted will turn to crime to get their fix.

    they will rent guns and go to your homes for their fix.

    a solution to this to prevent addiction based crime is to distribute the drugs to them b4 they turn to crime.

    a drug distribution center…done in many nations around the world…and those nations have seen reduction in drug addiction crimes.

  6. black press:
    people on hard addictive drugs do stupid things….get used to it cause as jobs start to dry up here

    the working addicted will turn to crime to get their fix.

    they will rent guns and go to your homes for their fix.

    a solution to this to prevent addiction based crime is to distribute the drugs to them b4 they turn to crime.

    a drug distribution center…done in many nations around the world…and those nations have seen reduction in drug addiction crimes.

    Sara:
    This will never happen because government (USA included) make too much money on people getting caught with drugs. They would rather crime happen than to give up those almighty dollars. Its ALWAYS about the almighty dollar.

  7. indeed @ sara….however….we the people of Bermuda r the true govt.

    and its about time we learn that our voices are ment to direct these corrupt politicians to do our bidding.

    our children will not accept that excuse,when they are faced with the concequences of our collective inaction…if they dont respond to our direction …kick them out.

    sara….we must try!

    **all power to the people by any means nessicary**

Leave a Reply

