Dissertation Time

Well, I am starting serious work on my dissertation right now. As a result I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to devote to local politics and the like. I will try to post some relatively short posts every other day, but just wanted to give readers a heads up.

Also, I’ll be writing a new ‘About’ section for this site. I actually started the new About to tie in with the third anniversary of this blog, but decided to hold off for a little while. Basically it will just be stating the reorientation of this blog. It will remain a site for local and other political discussion, and for the most part there won’t be any substantial differences. What will happen is that I will try and start focusing more on a general critique of Bermudian society and the Party as a whole.

The UBP is more or less a spent force, a pale reflection of what it once was. It seems clear to me that the last few weeks in Bermuda will be seen as truly historical for various reasons. In particular I think we will see the emergence of new political organisations and that has the potential to radically reshape the political landscape. The recent events have also given a good reason to reevaluate our liberal democracy and our constitutional relationship with the UK. These will be some of the focuses of the blog once I am more able to devote time to it again.

The dissertation is due in the third week of August. I am hoping to have it more or less complete by the end of July in order to make sure its nice and polished. Barring any major local news developments between that time, I will be only posting short articles for that period.

2 thoughts on “Dissertation Time

  1. Best wishes on getting the dissertation completed- that is a lot of work, towards a noble goal.

    Will look forward to whatever commentary you have time to post.

    AVP

  2. Mr. Star

    Good luck with the dissertation.

    You:
    In particular I think we will see the emergence of new political organisations and that has the potential to radically reshape the political landscape.

    Me: Hope springs eternal. Bermuda history would tend to indicate otherwise.

Leave a Reply

