Racist UK Policy

This just makes me sick. I mean, what the heck is wrong with the UK? How on earth can they justify denying these people the right to reside in the UK? This is just shameful.

I should stress that I do see the Gurkhas largely as mercenaries, and even exploitative and all that, but this is just outright racial discrimination on the part of the UK Government. And having said that, where is the wisdom in discriminating against such a group of people when you’re relying on them in a war zone (Afghanistan)? And also, do you really want to provoke a group like this?

9 thoughts on “Racist UK Policy

  1. I think that you’re wide of the mark in describing it as a ‘racist’ policy, but it certainly is a despicable policy that infuriates me. If there are any non-UK citizens who unquestionably should have the right to reside in the UK, it is the Gurkhas. I have literally never heard of anybody in this country (though I’m sure that Nick Griffin would say otherwise) who does not believe that these brave men should be given residency. I’m disgusted.

  2. I wonder how many appreciate, that the The Royal Gurkha Rifles (RGR)is a regiment of the British Army.

    Really not sure what this is all about. Madness.

  3. Well, I don’t know how else to describe it. Arguably I guess if there were other, and European, battalions within the UK Military, and they too were denied residence, then possibly this wouldn’t be racist – unless you take it to the level of preferring the Briton race over non-Briton Europeans.

    To me it looks racist, but either way one looks at it it looks bad on the part of the UK.

  4. Jonathan,

    It’s no more racist than any other immigration policy. The Gurkhas are Nepalese, they are not British, and I really don’t see how this can be described as any more racist than, say, refusing residency to Pakistani or Indian citizens. The difference, of course, is that the Gurkhas have earned a moral right to residency and the UK Government’s refusal to recognise this is disgraceful.

  5. Well, I can see the point about immigration and all, but the very fact that the Gurkhas have earned the right and this is being denied them, I don’t know. Okay, how would you describe this then?

  6. I would describe it as a disgusting decision, Jonathan, but I don’t think that you can slap the ‘racist’ label on what is, essentially, an extremely misguided, morally indefensible decision that has been made on the basis of immigration policy.

  7. The Government has lost a Liberal Democrat motion to extend the right of residence to all Gurkhas.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/8023882.stm

    Well done to Nick Clegg, and also well done to the Labour MPs that rebelled: apparently, Ian Austin, one of Gordon Brown’s henchmen, stood at the entrance to the ‘Aye’ lobby in an effort to intimidate Labour MPs from entering. More than a few Labour MPs openly laughed at him, apparently.

Leave a Reply

