The Death of Mr. Stempel

I was saddened to hear about Mr. Stempel’s death earlier this week. I had met him a few times, mostly while working at the Bermuda Aquarium Museum and Zoo where he was involved with the Bermuda Zoological Society. He was a frequent attendee of events held there, and through the E. Stempel Foundation helped fund a number of scientific research projects there. I myself was fortunate enough to recieve such a grant in 2002 and spent that summer conducting research on the Hungry Bay mangrove swamp – basically I did an ecological ‘health-check’ of this important biome. I also helped out with other students research projects, including research on West Indian Topshell distribution, seagrass restoration and the rediscovery of the endemic Bermudian land snail, Poecilozonites circumfirmatus.

As I said, I didn’t really know the guy, but from what I do know of him he was a really nice genuine guy, and I don’t think I really thanked him enough for facilitating my research that year. He will be missed.

Leave a Reply

