Goodwill To All Mankind

Well, I’ve been a bit lazy since ending my exams. My intentions to get cracking right back to blogging have been a bit waylaid by enjoying just relaxing and doing a spot of traveling and catching up with family here. I hope to get back soon, but it is the holidays, so I may just take the time to enjoy them for now afterall. Besides, I really haven’t come across anything in the news that has compelled me to set aside time to dedicate a post to it yet.

I’m sure the media will be full of plenty of platitudes about the year past and the year to come, much of it tingled with a sense of fear of what the new year may bring. It certainly proves to be a very interesting period.

For now though, its time for family and silly old traditions that make for good fun.

To the religious amongst you, merry Christmas; to the secular, enjoy the time with family and eat well.

But if anyone has a second and knows something about the UK, could they please tell me why I cannot find eggnog anywhere in this country? At least not in the stores I’ve been to…

Have a good one, and we can all resume to political bickering and discourse shortly! 😉

6 thoughts on “Goodwill To All Mankind

  1. I think buying it is difficult in the UK John. We tend to think of Advocat. Here a simple recipe…Happy Holidays to you.

    Make your own
    Eggnog

    * 6 eggs
    * 1 cup + 1 tablespoon sugar
    * 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
    * 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
    * 3/4 cup brandy
    * 1/3 cup dark rum (Captain Morgan for best flavor, but Myers is OK)
    * 2 cups whipping cream
    * 2 cups milk

    All liquids should be very cold. Refrigerate in advance.

    Beat the eggs for 2 or 3 minutes with an electric mixer at medium speed until very frothy. Gradually beat in the sugar, vanilla and nutmeg. Turn the mixer off and stir in the cold brandy, rum, whipping cream and milk Chill before serving. Sprinkle individual servings with more nutmeg.

    Makes about 2-1/2 quarts.

  2. For God’s sake man, your not in the UK, your in Scotland. A man of your background and intelect should know better than asking such a dumb question. Thats like asking a London cabby “where’s the best place to get a Hagis Birger”? Come on Johnny.

    Have a happy holiday and stick too draft beer.

    Cheers……………………..:+)

  3. Hi Martin,

    Thanks for the recipe, I’ll try my hand at it. As for the advocat, thats something I’ve definitely been enjoying as a backup. Actually, I think I’ll go get some right now…

    Hey Cahow, yeah, I know, I felt all dirty after that UK thing. Darn Sasenachs…

  4. Not too worry Johnny, I am still reading Nelson DeMille’s Gate House which is set in Long Island. He talks about a “Dar and Stormy”..the blackrum and gingerbeer yet finds it’s not too his palate. Well, thats solves it all and proves that it depends on upbringing and tastes, which further backs up my claim Russians drink ‘black russians’ only because they taste good.

    Have a great year and someday apply the knowledge that you gain.

    Cahow.

Leave a Reply

