Marc Bean to Contest By-Election

Well, I just received a text message saying that Senator Marc Bean will be contesting the by-election caused by the resignation of MP Jon Brunson of the UBP. I checked the RG’s site but there wasn’t any confirmation of this news at that time. Hopefully it’ll show up soon. But the text comes to me from a trusted friend and PLPer, with the news that I can go public with it.

I’m not surprised that Marc has been chosen to contest this by-election. After all, he did campaign against Mr. Brunson in the 2007 election, and from what I recall he did very well, losing by only about 140 votes which is pretty respectable.

I get the impression that UBPers are pretty fed up with the irrelevancy of their Party, and I really wouldn’t be surprised if many of them don’t bother coming out to vote. Factor in to this that the PLP will no doubt put all its resources into capturing this seat, and that Marc now has the added benefit of having served in the Senate, and I think he’ll win the seat easily.

If the UBP are able to suddenly shake off their current stupor and energise their base, or at least enough popular support to block an increased PLP mandate, then perhaps they will have a chance to hold this seat.

I wish Marc well. Good luck!

21 thoughts on “Marc Bean to Contest By-Election

  1. Interesting that Wayne Furbert has come out accusing the UBP of not picking the best candidate for this by-election. He says that if the UBP lose that seat they should put a sign up saying “Closed and for sale”.

  2. “Interesting that Wayne Furbert has come out accusing the UBP of not picking the best candidate for this by-election. He says that if the UBP lose that seat they should put a sign up saying “Closed and for sale”.”

    It’s hardly surprising, though, is it? He’s hardly been ‘on message’ of late, has he?

  3. Depends on whose message he should be on.

    I think he is the only one in the UBP making a little sense though. They want to reform the party etc but they are picking charlie Swan?

    Or as Kim Swan so eloquently called him, Charlie the plumber?

  4. I do find it slightly amusing that the UBP us now more or less aligning themselves with the US Republican Party, shortly after thrusting their relation with the UK Conservative Party, back into the news.

    As for Mr. Furbert, while I’m all about having open factional debate within Parties in order to mutually advance said Parties, I am slightly weary of his complaints, especially as he always phrases them along the lines of ‘I’ll give them one more chance…’

    Having said that, if he defects to the PLP, and the PLP accepts him, to me that would be totally hypocritical of the PLP. Heck, I’ll even go ahead and say that if that happens I’ll leave the Party myself in utter contempt.

    As for the selection of Mr. Charlie Swan for the by-election… Well, I’m sure he’s a nice guy and all (don’t think I’ve ever really spoken with him), but I’m not exactly inspired with this selection. Not that I would be expected to be, being an anti-UBPer. But seriously, couldn’t they have selected a better candidate? I won’t wish him good luck (as I want Mr. Bean to win), but I do wish him well and all.

    I’ld certainly like to echo the sentiments of Mr. Furbert though in saying that the UBP knew of Mr. Brunson’s decision a while ago; I fully admit that I had heard of its strong possibility before I had left the country, but I didn’t want to be the first to say so – although I was kind of implying that in my other post. With all that advance warning, this selection was their best? I think the problems within the UBP are even more terminal and severe than I had initially been led to believe.

    At this rate, I reckon a 3rd Party candidate might even take more votes than the UBP in this by-election.

  5. “shortly after thrusting their relation with the UK Conservative Party, back into the news.”

    Not to veer off-topic, but I do feel the need to point out that the Conservative Party is actually unarguably left of the Labour Party these days, contrary to the sentiments expressed by certain people in the PLP when they want portray the UBP as hard right-wingers. In fact, I’d go so far as to say that the vast majority of the people that throw the term ‘conservative’ around (including those in the PLP) don’t even know what it means, because they’re wrongly associating it with the fundamentalist wing of the Republican Party.

  6. I would say that the PLP was very much influenced by the developments within the UK Labour Party that saw the rise of the Third Way ‘New Labour’ of Blair. They essentially retained their political support base while ‘appropriating’ the political position of the then UBP, and thus capturing numerous swing voters that had previously supported the UBP. Of course, the serious problems within the then UBP certainly contributed to this, and indeed the comparison with the 1997 UK election and the 1998 Bda election is quite uncanny at times.

    I feel that the UK Tories were forced to the right by the displacement of the Centre by New Labour. I still maintain they are to the right of New Labour, but I totally admit that there is very little difference between the two.

    I think the same goes for Bda to be honest. I think about the only real difference between the two Parties (and I’ve said this several times on this blog) is that the PLP does have a better grasp of the race question than the UBP. Apart from that it would be very hard to really tell the two apart. I fully admit the PLP has done alot of good things and has significantly advanced our democracy, but on basic economic policies, and, in most things, the differences between the two are increasingly minor. Shades of gray.

  7. Cant believe the PLP is picking a pop tart out of a toaster boy to run where Burch could have finally made it in the house. cant believe people listen to globalist Wasi long boring philabusters about idealism. The problems with the UBP are the fact that blackmiddleclassmen are cowards who can be bribed by the party in power. They have no heart. But PLPIndependence is the final warfront elections are just battles.

  8. Well, I see that Mr. Raymond Khalid Wasi davis has confirmed he will be running in this by-election as an independent candidate. Obviously I’m not on the ground, and honestly, I’m an East Ender and don’t go up West much, but I’m getting the impression that Mr. Davis may in fact be able to command a greater share of the vote than the UBP candidate Mr. Charles Swan. I reckon the UBP vote will be divided as people split between ‘more of the same’ UBP obsolesence and a possible ‘new way.’ This would of course work in the PLP’s favour in winning the by-election. But the potential for the failure of the UBP and the relative success of the independent, may well be what is needed to finally realise the political change we need in this country.

  9. Jonathan, given your admitted misgivings about the direction in which the PLP is heading, why would you think that an increased PLP majority in the House would be a good thing at this juncture? I agree that the UBP is, essentially, a spent force, but I’m far from convinced that giving the current PLP administration even greater power can come to any good.

  10. Sounds like Wayne and Kim and Michael Fahy are having it out on the front page of the paper today. No comments on that?

    Does anyone think this will affect turnout and support for the UBP in this UBP held constituency?

  11. “Sounds like Wayne and Kim and Michael Fahy are having it out on the front page of the paper today. No comments on that?

    Does anyone think this will affect turnout and support for the UBP in this UBP held constituency?”

    To be honest, I’m not quite sure what to make of it all. I will say that Wayne’s coming across as fairly petulant and spiteful, which I find surprising from him. On the one hand, he’s saying “I don’t want to get dirty in the public arena”, but then he seems to think he’s Don Corleone with rather childish and unpleasant outbursts such as “I hope Mr. Michael Fahy is not trying to be nasty or vindictive because he knows I know too much” and “They don’t want to get dirty with me, trust me.”

    All in all, it appears to be a case of someone who hasn’t got their way within the Party, and who not only has decided to take their football and go home, but to fire bomb the pitch in the process.

    The bottom line is that the UBP is essentially dead in the water at this point, and the rather distasteful sniping on the fron page of the Gazette is symptomatic of this. Simply put, a well-organized, united party that wants to be taken seriously wouldn’t be airing its dirty laundry on the front page of the daily newspaper.

    As to whether this will affect the by-election outcome? Who knows. On the one hand, the general apathy towards the UBP won’t help, but I reiterate the point that I made above with regard to whether it would be healthy or desirable to actually hand the PLP even more power by increasing its majority. That issue alone may actually compel typical UBP voters to turn out in force.

  12. The UBP won by 142 votes in December, with 80% of registered voters voting in that constituency. The UBP received 58% of total votes cast and increased their margin of victory when compared to the 2003 election. Do people really feel the PLP can win this by-election? I know the UBP are all but dead, but I fear growing disappointment from grassroots PLP supporters (i.e. the working class [teachers, police, truck drivers etc.] caused Dr. Brown’s elitist ways) will keep many PLPers from voting (these people will abstain from voting rather than switching to the UBP). And of those 548 people who voted for the UBP in the last election, will that many really change their votes and go PLP now? I know voting UBP is akin to beating a dead fish but I just don’t see the PLP winning this time around. It might be a closer race than the general election, but the UBP should still win well over 50% of the votes IMO.

  13. I would like to say thanks to Loki and Golfer for well reasoned responses. Too often posters post on emotion with no real basis.

    I think the PLP has a shot. I too wonder if there will enough disillusionment from either side to cause a change in result. UBP followers historically vote UBP regardless. PLP followers that are disillusioned tend to abstain.

    I wonder if the front page fighting will cause UBP followers to stay home this time though.

  14. Hi Ken,

    I thought briefly about writing a post on the whole RG article about Mr. Furbert criticising Mr. Charles Swan’s candidacy, but I concluded there was no point. At best it warranted mention as an afterthought in the post above. The UBP is irrelevant quite frankly, and so is Mr. Furbert.

    I think that Mr. Bean is a good candidate, and I think he’ll make an excellent contribution to the House. I also think that with the apathy within the UBP and the decision by Mr. Davis/Wasi, the former UBP vote will be split sufficiently to give Mr. Bean the advantage. This should cause some movement within the UBP, for better or worse.

  15. Does it really matter Mr. Starling?

    What are the voters and people doing?

    Mr, G…tear down this wall……..

    Ok cool…whats the price of a suicide bomber today?

  16. I would definitely encourage ‘UBP’ voters there to vote for Mr. Davis, in an attempt to get it through to the (remarkably non-responsive) minds of the UBP hierarchy that the UBP (alas, because there are just too many people who wouldn’t vote for them even if Bermuda had a 50% unemployment rate) needs to fold up and make way for something new. Maybe if the UBP candidate gets *third* place in the by-election the penny will finally drop….

Leave a Reply

