Kim Swan Elected Opposition Leader

Well, what can I say. I really wasn’t expecting this result. I was sure it was going to be John Barritt as leader after hearing that Mr. Richards had chosen not to pursue the leadership at this time.

I find Mr. Swan to be a generally nice guy, but I haven’t been too impressed with him over the years in the Senate and didn’t feel that he had much political shrewdness. As stated over at the Progressive Minds site, he can come across as kind of whiney sometimes.

I am suprised at his election. While I thought he had the potential to become leader eventually I thought he needed some time in the House in order to mature a little for that position. I’m guessing that this is a compromise decision by the Party hoping to avoid a split. I’m sure that the UBP will rally behind him and present a united front now, but it seems pretty clear that they remain seriously fractured underneath.

I wish him well, and I look forward to seeing him rise to the occassion; who knows, he might be just what the UBP need afterall.

One thought on “Kim Swan Elected Opposition Leader

  1. “I’m guessing that this is a compromise decision by the Party hoping to avoid a split.”

    sounds like it – the UBP’s alex scott maybe?

Leave a Reply

